CI Teaching Excellence Award

2018 Award Recipient

Laine Zisman Newman, Centre for Drama, Theatre & Performance Studies


2018 Shortlisted Candidates

Christopher Tatham, Department of Sociology
Marina Freire-Gormaly, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering
Robert Price, Institute for Culture, Communication, Information & Technology


Important Dates for 2018 Award

Nominations Open: November 13, 2017
Nominations Close: February 28, 2018

Short List Announced: March 19, 2018
Supporting Material Due: April 13, 2018 at noon

Winners Announced: April 30, 2018

If you have any questions regarding the nomination process, please contact


Past recipients of the TATP Teaching Excellence Awards

In 2015, the TATP launched the first-ever TATP award specifically for graduate student Course Instructors! This award recognizes one graduate student whose outstanding work as a sole-responsibility Course Instructor shows evidence of educational leadership, meaningful contributions to course and curriculum development, and impact on student learning.

In each award year (May 1 – April 30), one Course Instructor Award will be offered. The successful candidate will receive a monetary award and a certificate. All shortlisted candidates will be invited to attend the University of Toronto’s annual Teaching & Learning Symposium. The Symposium, hosted by the University President, is a full-day event showcasing innovative teaching research and effective teaching practices, and is an event reserved for U of T faculty members, librarians and appointed staff. The shortlisted candidates will participate as Special Guests.

Preference will be given to Course Instructors who have held more than one appointment.